Origins of the Bravo (nickname anyway)

The questions of my nickname have come up from time to time, and now seems as good a time as any for those who do not know.  As most of you are aware everone in the military has a nickname.  Some are earned, some are in jest, some are just vulgar; however they stick they inform others about you and offer a much less formal way of addressing comrades then by rank or last name (first names are very rarely used outside of the officer ranks).
 
My first name is John, not Johnny, but John.  I hated the name Johnny as it seem something you call a child, not an adult.  My middle initial is B, in the military phonetic alaphabet the B is designated as BRAVO.  In high-school I was know as chief, mainly because of my herritage and partly because of my hair… yes sir I have always had long hair (military service excluded).  In the Navy the rank of E7 is a Chief Petty Officer, so the chief nick name was a no go.  Most people just called me a shortened version of my last name, which is simular to a first name.
 
Being the character I was… serious at work and a complete goof-ball outside of work those I hung around tried various names, none stuck.  One of the people I was in charge of had seen the cartoon, I was unaware of it at the time, and knowing I hated the name Johnny decided it would be cool.  From that point on my name was Johnny Bravo, which happened to also represent the division I worked in, weapons, as each operation we conducted they had to hoist the BRAVO flag (meaning explosives were present and the smoking lamp is out throught-out the ship). 
 
I have caught flack over the name ever since.  The only thing I have in common with the cartoon, yes I have watched it, is the sunglasses thing.  So an interesting tid bit for all those browsing by and all the regulars who didn’t know… now you do!
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Origins of the Bravo (nickname anyway)

  1. Sarah says:

    Oh cool!! That\’s a really neat way to get a nickname!!! I don\’t have any. And I love hearing your military stories. I\’ve always wanted to be in the military. I was going to join the national guard in 2000, but my mother found out and even though I was 20 at the time, grounded me. I love how often you update your blog!! I stop by several times a day 😀

  2. coco says:

    is it any special meaning for Bravo?

  3. Johne438 says:

    Thanks for another magnificent post. Where else may just anybody get that kind of info in such a perfect manner of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m at the look for such information. bgdkdbdefedk

Leave a Reply

